Museum Geek

Dino for Blog
During the Cretaceous period, Manitoba was covered in a giant lake, home to toothy beauties like this, as shown at the Canadian Fossil Discovery Centre. /GEHMAN

Not all fandoms are TV shows. Not all geeks are in love with Star Wars.

I mean, I love Star Wars, but I also love museums. I’ve been to The Manitoba Museum more times than I could possibly count since I was knee-high to a grasshopper and I still love it as an almost-20-year-old. There’s something seductive about the mix of history and dioramas and objects that were touched by people who lived hundreds of years ago. I could walk around in museum galleries for hours, just staring at artifacts and harvesting hundreds of non sequitur facts.

On a family vacation to Ottawa we spent a full day at the National Gallery of Canada and I cried when I saw my first real Degas. Like really cried. I was so overwhelmed by the idea that my favourite painter had looked at the piece of canvas that was in front of me and had decided to make it beautiful.

Over the weekend I got the chance to go explore Morden, which may not seem like the most exciting of weekend plans, but I thoroughly enjoyed myself, largely due to the community’s two museums: the Manitoba Baseball Hall Of Fame Museum and the Canadian Fossil Discovery Centre.

I got to wander around through display cases and exhibit halls taking picture and reading plaques to my heart’s content. I met Bruce, Canada’s largest Mosasaur fossil, I saw baseball jerseys from over a hundred years ago. I was in museum geek heaven: brand new museums.

So yes I’m a Star Wars nerd and a Buffy the Vampire Slayer geek, but I’m also in love with history and museums.

Which means that when I went to Star Wars Identities and saw original props and costumes from the movies,  I hyperventilated myself to a new plane of nerdom.

 

Leave a Reply

